Extraterrestrial Adventures 

I’ve always liked using big bushy dry flies. Easy to see, easy to fish, and fun to tie. The patterns I use resemble nothing in particular, and are more of a combination of other fly patterns than an imitation of a particular Terrestrial. My flies probably look more like some “extra terrestrial” bug that’s just landed here from another planet, than a bug that’s just fallen on to the water from the river bank. I like a little bling in my dry flies. Some colour and exaggerated triggers are important to me, though I’ve never asked the fish if they prefer my flies to something much simpler. I may be a minimalist when it comes to my fishing, but certainly not my tying.

I heard it said that you should never share a fly or introduce into before in its tried and tested. A figure of a hundred fish was mentioned. To hell with that idea! I have caught one tiny little trout this whole season, so that might take a little time. I tie flies far more than I fish and far more than I need to. I tie a fly or two on most days, between babysitting, farming and trying to keep my wife happy.

Here follow a few of my latest dry flies that I’ve tied. I’ve modified old patterns of mine to make them more fishable and I’ve come up with a few new flies too (well new to me). I have had a lot of fun tying with CDC since I first used it just over a year ago. I can’t say that I have experienced it’s fish catching “magic” first hand, but it really does give a fly some life and buggieness.

Here follow a few of my extra terrestrial bugs. Some have just crawled off my vice this weekend and others I have tied over the last year or so. I will include a short SBS for the spider and beetle and a link to previous articles for an SBS of the other patterns.

The Lotheni Spider 

Here are a few variations of a pattern that I have recently tied but not yet fished. While fishing the Lotheni River last weekend, I noticed several big grey spiders climbing over the rocks in the river bed. A tasty morsel for a trout, no doubt. I looked at my spider pattern that I was fishing, and it looked very different to the real thing that was so abundant along the river banks. Here is the spider pattern I tied after my observations on the river. I have tied it in a few colour variations which are probably not necessary, but it’s fun anyway.

The first Lotheni Spider I tied. This is a pretty good imitation of the natural in terms of colour and size.
A prettier version of the original.
A more slender version of the Lotheni Spider
The Lotheni spider from above.
wp-1475345322016.jpeg
This version is tied using only CDC, except the post and the thread.

Lotheni Spider and Beetle SBS:

A few other terrestrials from my fly box

I have tied a few beetle patterns over the last year or so, and this below is the latest of them. I Haven’t named this fly yet, and maybe there is a similar pattern out there. If there is I would love to know its name, and the same goes for the spider pattern above.

While tying up a Lotheni Spider, I decided to leave out the post and parachute. Instead I added some little feelers and wound the CDC round the head like a hackle. Bingo now I have another beetle pattern.
My new beetle from the side on. Its a departure from the drab grey colour of the naturals but I couldn’t help myself, I just had to have some sparkle and colour.
wp-1475345455380.jpeg
The Bungezi Beetle
wp-1475346227122.jpeg
A Doggy Bag Beetle. This fly is tied with the left over clippings of my deer hair flies.
wp-1475345455409.jpeg
Para-Daddy
wp-1475345455384.jpeg
My latest version of my Para-Daddy without a tail, and a CDC hackle. This fly lead to my spider inspiration.
wp-1475345455406.jpeg
My Hopper, also with a hotspot deer hair body.
My long time favourite dry fly, the Big Daddy.
A Big Daddy with some CDC in the hackle.

SBS Hopper and Para-Daddy 

 SBS Bungezi Beetle

Leave a Reply

